Animalistic by Nordic Union

Nordic Union’s 4th studio album, Animalistic, is unrelenting from beginning to end!

Review by Dave Tedder

The third album from Nordic Union, ‘Animalistic’ sees the Swedish / Danish quartet going from strength to strength and continuing on the same path they’ve been on since their self-titled debut in 2016 and then ‘Second Coming’ four years ago.  Aside from picking up a new drummer – Henrik Eriksson replacing the departed Magnus Ulfstedt –  the lineup remains the same.  For the unfamiliar, Nordic Union is a side project for both Ronnie Atkins, the frontman of Denmark’s melodic metal beasts Pretty Maids and Erik Martensson, producer, multi-instrumentalist and lead singer of upstart Swedish hard rockers Eclipse. 

Animalistic’ hits hard right out of the gate with the one two punch of the frantic, “On This Day I Fight” which drives straight into the punchy “In Every Waking Hour,” complete with staccato intro and anthemic chorus.  The ballad, “Riot” perfectly showcases Atkins’ obvious talents; the “lighters out” moment on the album and easily one of its best tracks.  The opening riff in “This Means War” is just as ugly as the title suggests, razor sharp and pristine, setting up a perfect mid-tempo headbanger. Fredrik Folkare lays down an amazing solo on this one.  The title track will simply rip your head off with its unhinged guitar histrionics and Eriksson working double time behind the kit. 

While Nordic Union is a side project for Ronnie and Erik, the material the band pumps out is nothing less than stellar every single time.  There are no “throwaway songs” from either Pretty Maids or Eclipse on tap here.  Each track stands on its own and as a collective is easily one of the top hard rock albums of 2022.

“Animalistic” Tracklisting:
On This Day I Fight
In Every Waking Hour
If I Could Fly
This Means War
Shot In The Dark
Last Man Alive
King For A Day

Ronnie Atkins
– Lead & Backing Vocals
Erik Martensson – Lead & Rhythm Guitar, Bass, Keyboards and Backing Vocals

Additional Musicians:
Fredrik Folkare – Lead Guitar
Henrik Eriksson – Drums
Thomas Larsson – Lead Guitar on “Scream”, “Riot”, & “Last Man Alive”

Produced by: Erik Martensson
Mixed & Mastered by: Erik Martensson
Executive Producer/A&R: Serafino Perugino

Nordic Union

Facebook Comments