METAL DE FACTO: Debut Album “Imperium Romanum” Out Now + New Lyric Video for “Legionnaires’ Oath”

The day has come: Finnish power metallers METAL DE FACTO have finally unleashed their debut album Imperium Romanum via Rockshots Records!

 To celebrate the event, the band has also released the lyric video for “Legionnaires’ Oath,”

Singer Mikael Salo and bass player Sami Hinkka comment about the song, “‘Legionnaires’ Oath’ talks about the legionnaires, heavy infantrymen of the Roman army who were revered as some of the most feared warriors at the time. It delves into the mindset of these soldiers, and the oath that they took to serve Rome for at least 25 years, the loyalty and the mental fortitude it required. Musically, ‘Legionnaires’ Oath’ boasts a powerful pounding drum beat paired with a commanding lead guitar melody. The chorus then explodes to an epic choir that speaks of military might and conquest, both sorrowful yet glorious!”

Imperium Romanum is now available both in CD jewel case and digital version at

Imperium Romanum was recorded, mixed and mastered at Goodman Studios and Tadaa Music Studio by Esa Orjatsalo. The artwork was created by the renowned Hungarian artist Gyula Havancsák (Blind Guardian’s Twilight Orchestra, StratovariusAcceptGrave DiggerPowerwolf and many more). The album also features a spoken word part by Maurizio Iacono (KataklysmEx-Deo) on the last song “Germanicus.”

The band also recently released singles: “The Conqueror” & “The Ascending of Jupiter”

METAL DE FACTO was formed in late 2017 by Esa Orjatsalo (ex-Dreamtale) and Sami Hinkka (Ensiferum), who had met and discussed the deeper meanings of power metal on Ensiferum‘s tour bus. The line-up was soon completed with Atte Marttinen (ex-Kivimetsän Druidi), Benji Connelly (Everfrost), Mikko Salovaara (Leverage) and Mikael Salo (Everfrost). The band promises to “Make Power Metal Great Again” with their powerful sound and epic concepts, ones that deal with different historical themes and mythologies.

The idea is that every album would have a theme based on a certain country’s or culture’s history and mythology. The debut album deals with the Roman Empire and the many tales, true stories and philosophies associated with it. Each song is about a different aspect of this grand topic, and while being enjoyable as escapist storytelling in itself, also delves into the mindset of the different characters and people from whose perspectives the songs are written.

Imperium Romanum tracklisting:
The Conqueror
Legionnaires’ Oath
Naturalis Historia
Echoes in Eternity
Ides of March
The Ascending of Jupiter
Germanicus (feat. Maurizio Iacono)

METAL DE FACTO is: Mikael Salo – Vocals, Esa Orjatsalo – Guitars, Mikko Salovaara – Guitars, Sami Hinkka – Bass, Benji Connelly – Keyboard and Atte Marttinen – Drums

Website | Facebook | Instagram

Facebook Comments